The Everly Brothers Fan Forum logo
Everly Brothers Forum

You're Just What I Was Looking For.7978

Annmary private msg quote post Address this user

A new one on me Info anyone,
Post 1 IP   flag post
craiglhope private msg quote post Address this user
New one on me, also, Annmary. The NYC Brill Building hit-team of Carole King and Gerry Goffin were the composers, all kinds of dates 1967, 1980, Chained to a Memory, different box-sets, Bear Family, probably James Burton on guitar, Hal Blaine on drums and Larry Knecktel on piano, psychedelic-folk-pop treatment of the times......I am far from an expert Annmary, and simply Google whatever and all I do is say whatever the histories show..The EB WB contract was for $100K a year for ten years, '57 to '61 they were Kings even topping Elvis at times with No. 1 & 2 hits on the charts, but the cutting off of The Bryants and the top of their career when going to WB, e.g., Don's "Cathy's Clown" 7 to 8 million-selling hit, etc., BUT, the times were a'changin as Bob Dylan said and tastes changed..."Col." Tom Parker shrewdly had Elvis run to the movies while still hot and picked up a fortune doing those B-films....Pop Music is fickle as Don says...The Beatles were unknown in 1962, The Stones with Bryan Jones were eating raw potatoes in a dumpy room in 1962 and then, voila, 1964 onward, The Fab Four became the biggest act in all of show business history and The Stones, even today, commanded millions of dollars PER CITY on a 20-city tour and hundreds of millions of dollars = serious money, year in, decade out....and to think that in 1956, Presley would wiggle his hips, and dance around a bit on-stage and that was...!!! Unbelievable Excitement !!! End of the World, etc. HA!
Post 2 IP   flag post
colorado3 private msg quote post Address this user